## **Iroquois timeline**

The five nations of the Iroquois are brought together by the Great Peacemaker. The Iroquois confederacy, or Haudenosaunee, is made up of the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga and

Seneca tribes.

Explorer Henry Hudson is asked by the Dutch East India Company

to sail to America. He sails up the Hudson River and meets members of Native American

tribes.

1609

1630

After signing the Two Row Wampum Treaty, the Iroquois and Dutch settlers live in peace and begin trading furs and other goods with each other.

The Dutch begin to supply the Iroquois confederacy with guns.

The Iroquois attack their enemies, the Huron tribe, who have been

weakened by a smallpox epidemic.

During the Beaver Wars, the Iroquois fight against French settlers and

other Native American tribes, including the Huron, for control of the

local fur trade. Fighting lasts for 60 years.

The Iroquois sign a peace treaty called the Great Peace of Montreal

with the French and other Native American tribes, bringing an end to the Beaver Wars. This gives France a lot of influence over the tribes.

**1710** Queen Anne of Britain invites four Iroquois kings to visit London to

improve relations with the Iroquois confederacy.

The Tuscarora tribe join the Iroquois confederacy, which is now

known as the Six Nations.

